Early on, merchandise for Mosinee businesses had to be floated in on log rafts destined for the sawmill or hauled in by heavy wagon teams which then hauled out lumber on return trips. It was not until the arrival of the “iron horse” in 1875 that the freight transportation situation significantly improved.
Handling over 9,000 carloads per year in the early 1990’s, the Soo-Line Railroad continues to provide important freight transportation service to Mosinee, Knowlton and adjoining areas.
Historic Downtown Mosinee
Little Bull Falls actually became known as Mosinee on July 22, 1857 when a post office branch was opened and the name Mosinee chosen for its official designation. The name Mosinee is thought to have originated from the name of a local Indian Chief and/or the Indian name for the particular bend in the “Great River” known as “Moose Knee”. It is reported that the man selected to serve as the first postmaster objected to using the name Little Bull Falls on mail, feeling that it was too vulgar a name for the ladies to use in preparing their correspondence – hence the choice of a more acceptable name – Mosinee. When the Post Office was moved to the West side of the river, the name was also applied to the township. In 1889, when the village was incorporated, it retained the name of Mosinee. Mr. Joseph Dessert, who had recommended the name, became the village’s first President as well as its foremost businessman. Learn more about Mosinee’s History.
River Park Bench on the Wisconsin River
Today life in Mosinee remains connected to the river, as one of its major industries Wausau Paper Corporation depends on the river’s power and water supply for its operations. The river also provides a beautiful, scenic setting for Mosinee and excellent recreational activities all year long.
The Mosinee Mill celebrates 100 years! Discover the history of the mill from 1911 – 2011.